CFI welcomes new governance appointments

Peter Dinsdale, Erasmus Okine, Gail Powley and David M. C. Walker will contribute their expertise to help carry out the CFI’s mandate

OTTAWA, ONT. — The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) welcomes new appointments to its governing bodies — Peter Dinsdale and Gail Powley as Board Directors, and Erasmus Okine and David M. C. Walker as Members. Representing diverse areas of expertise, each brings to the CFI a unique perspective, understanding and dedication to Canada’s research and innovation ecosystem.

The CFI’s governance structure includes a Board of 13 Directors, as well as 13 Members, who act as a higher governing body similar to a company’s shareholders, and who represent the Canadian public.

New Board Directors:

Peter Dinsdale
As an Indigenous leader who has devoted his life to improving the lives of Indigenous people and supporting reconciliation, Peter Dinsdale has worked and volunteered for service delivery and political advocacy organizations on a local, regional and national level. He is currently Chief Executive Officer of YMCA Canada.
Read: Peter Dinsdale’s full bio

Gail Powley
Gail Powley is a community-builder, championing the growth of the tech sector by supporting entrepreneurial advanced tech companies and raising their visibility, advising on policies and providing access to talent. She has worked in industry, government and academia for more than three decades. She is currently President of Technology Alberta.
Read: Gail Powley’s full bio

New members

Erasmus Okine
Erasmus Okine was appointed Provost and Vice-President (Academic) of the University of Lethbridge for three years beginning April 2020. He joined the University as Vice-President (Research) on July 1, 2015, coming from the University of Alberta where he had served in a dual capacity as the Associate Vice-President (Research) and Associate Vice-President (Academic).
Read: Erasmus Okine’s full bio

David M. C. Walker
David M.C. Walker is Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the School of Medicine at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ont., where he is cross-appointed to the School of Policy Studies. He is a member of the consultant staff at Kingston Health Sciences Centre. At Queen’s, he chaired the Principal’s Commission on Mental Health, and, most recently, served as Special Advisor to Principal Patrick Deane on COVID-19.
Read: David M. C. Walker’s full bio

The CFI would like to thank Members Ronald Morrison and Vianne Timmons, and Directors Margaret Bloodworth and Ian Seymour, whose terms ended in 2022.

Directors Ronald Layden, Christopher Mushquash and Mamdouh Shoukri and Members Lorne Babiuk and Pierre Richard have been reappointed for a second term.

CFI Board Directors serve three-year terms, while Members serve five-year terms. All are eligible for second terms.

Read: Bios of all of our Board Directors