You are here

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of 13 individuals—6 of whom are appointed by the Government of Canada—from a variety of backgrounds, each with a unique perspective and an understanding of the research world. The Directors are appointed for a three-year renewable term and bring with them expertise in the private, institutional, academic, research, and government sectors. One Director on the Board is a representative from one of the federal granting agencies.

The Board of Directors makes final decisions on projects to be funded and sets strategic objectives in the context of the funding agreement. It approves annual plans and objectives, and reviews the outcomes of these objectives each year. It regularly reviews issues from a risk-assessment perspective—determining what risks are acceptable and ensuring that appropriate mitigation steps are in place. As well, the Board sets the CFI’s overall compensation policy, and specifically sets compensation for management.


CFI Board of Directors

Kevin P. D. Smith, Chair*
President and Chief Executive Officer, St. Joseph’s Health System Hamilton and Chief Executive Officer, Niagara Health System

Margaret Bloodworth, Vice-Chair
Former Federal Deputy Minister and National Security Advisor

Alain Beaudet*
President of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)

Micheline Bouchard
Corporate Director

Lynda Brown-Ganzert*
Founder and CEO of Curatio

William R. Driedzic
Canada Research Chair in Marine Bioscience, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Michel Kelly-Gagnon*
President and Chief Executive Officer, Montreal Economic Institute

Leslie MacLaren
Professor, Animal Physiology, Dalhousie University

Roderick McInnes
Director, Lady Davis Research Institute, Jewish General Hospital

Ingrid Pickering
Canada Research Chair in Molecular Environmental Science, University of Saskatchewan

Prem Singhmar*
President of Singhmar Group of Companies

Gordon F. Stovel*
President, Stovel Capital Advisors Inc.

(*) Governor-in-Council appointed directors (Public Office Holder)