Waterloo Journalist Wins First Superstars of Innovation Writer’s Award

June 20, 2005

Ottawa, June 20, 2005— The first winner of the 'Superstars of Innovation Writer’s Award' was announced on June 18, 2005 at the Canadian Science Writer’s Association (CSWA) annual meeting in Jasper, Alberta. Rose Simone of The Record (Kitchener-Waterloo) won for her 11-part series “The Explorers” that brilliantly chronicles the work of leading thinkers at Waterloo’s Perimeter Institute of Theoretical Physics.

The Award recognizes the writer of an outstanding story about a talented person or team pushing the boundaries of knowledge and innovation.

“Although theoretical physics may seem to be extremely difficult subject matter for a daily newspaper audience, my hope is that I helped to foster a deeper appreciation and understanding among readers in this region,” said Ms. Simone.

“This award celebrates the vital contribution of science writers in bringing important research and innovation successes to the public,” said Dr. Eliot Phillipson, President and CEO of the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

The submissions for this award were reviewed by an expert and diverse panel of judges. “Canadians don't have much hope of understanding the amazing pace of change in science and research unless Canadian journalism steps up to the challenge of explaining these things. The work we judged in this competition left me more optimistic than I've been for a while about the future of Canadian journalism -- and rekindled my excitement about the future of Canadian research and innovation,” said Paul Wells, Panel Chair

The CFI hopes this award will further inspire the work of those who strive to communicate our great scientific and research successes. “This collaboration has reinforced our shared desire to acknowledge the very best efforts of telling stories about science and technology to Canadians, and the most outstanding entries in this first competition are fine examples of this goal.” says incoming CSWA President Tim Lougheed.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) is an independent corporation created by the Government of Canada to fund research infrastructure. The CFI’s mandate is to strengthen the capacity of Canadian universities, colleges, research hospitals, and other non-profit research institutions to carry out world-class research and technology development that benefits Canadians.

For more information:

Alastair Sinclair
Coordinator, Media Relations
Canada Foundation for Innovation
(613) 996-3160
(613) 447-1723 (mobile)

The Panel

Chair: Paul Wells, journalist, Maclean’s Magazine
Christine Tausig-Ford, Director of Communications, Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada
Paul Fraumeni, Director, Communications and Editor, Edge Magazine, University of Toronto
Danielle Ouellet, Managing Editor, research magazine Découvrir 
Ian Jack, Senior Communications Advisor, Office of the Minister of Industry Canada
Tim Lougheed, Consultant, Vice-President, Canadian Science Writers’ Association
Guy Levesque, Coordinator, Institutional Relations, Canada Foundation for Innovation